Friday, May 23, 2014

Four Corners Monument: AZ, NM, CO, and UT

In the Southwestern US there is a quadripoint where the states of Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, and Utah all meet - this is the only instance in the US where four states share a boundary point. The actual monument where the four points come together is run by the Navajo Nation Parks and Recreation Department - they charge an entry fee and there are many Navajo vendors set up in booths that surround the monument during the daytime hours.

We arrived at the monument just as they were about to close for the night - we got out of paying the fee, we weren't inundated by the vendors (most had already left for the night and a few more were packing up their final wares), and we had to wait in line behind only a few people to get a picture of our feet on all four points. So if you can manage it, try to come here just before closing time!

See more Arizona posts here, more Colorado posts here, more Utah posts here, and more New Mexico posts here!

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love reading your comments!

Pin It button on image hover